Paul Van Dyk en Apple Website

22.01.2008 @ 15:22 \03\Tue, 22 Jan 2008 15:22:47 +0100\47 +0100 GMT+0100

Interesante historia (y comercial por supuesto) de Prof. Dr. Van Dyk y sus técnicas para hacer remixes. Todo esto desde el sitio pro de Apple.

En el artículo Van Dyk describe que ya no usa viniles, que todo es digital y, más que mezclar, produce la música en vivo.

For the most part, van Dyk’s music making process was a mystery to his fans, until he put his studio on stage. On tour for his latest album, “In Between,” the producer uses two 17-inch MacBook Pros running Logic Studio and Ableton Live. “One computer is for the audio library, the other computer is where the software synthesizers are for sequencing,” he says. “The computers are connected through an interface and an Allen & Heath 3D mixer, which is also a MIDI controller. I have 19 software synths installed and I have two MIDI keyboards, so I play a lot of things live. I also have a UC-33 controller, an Akai controller and some other things that I can play with when I’m up there. With all these things I’m able to do some crazy stuff.”

Van Dyk essentially creates remixes of his tracks live, tweaking them to suit the vibe. “I could play your favorite tune and it sounds completely different—different bass line, different drums,” he says, “but it would sound so much better at that particular moment of the set.”

It’s a far cry from the days of vinyl. “I’m so busy when I play now,” says van Dyk. “The other day I was wondering, what did I actually do once the record was playing? Wait for eight minutes to mix in the next one? How boring.”

Los interesados pueden ver más aquí

One Response to “Paul Van Dyk en Apple Website”


  1. Pretty great post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to mention that I have
    really loved surfing around your weblog posts.

    In any case I’ll be subscribing on your rss feed and I hope
    you write again very soon!


Deja un comentario